History of the CSG

The Cetacean Specialist Group was established in the 1960s. For a brief period in the 1970s it was merged with others to form the Marine Mammal Specialist Group. It was then reformed in 1979 and has continued since that time in approximately the same form.

Current Chair Current Deputy Co-Chairs
1997-present: Randall R Reeves 2020-present: Gianna Minton

2020-present: Gill Braulik

Former Chairs    Former Deputy Chairs
1998-2023: Giuseppe Notarbartolo di Sciara
1991-1997: Steve Leatherwood 1992-1997: Randall R. Reeves
1984-1991: Bill Perrin 1989-1991: Steve Leatherwood
1979-1984: Mike Tillman
1960s: Masaharu Nishiwaki 1960s: Sidney Brown